Skip to content

Christmas tree with gingerbread cookies

December 22, 2011

Merry Christmas to everybody!

I hope that you will have  very nice Christmas.

One of my friends who taught me how to bake bread sent me this great recipes by e-mail. I was already into this Gingerbread tree cookies as soon as I read her email.   The icing is very good especially, and it is easy to decorate on the cookies. My 5 year-old daughter could draw it nicely,too.

Here is the recipe and the star  templates and the royal icing recipe.  But I don’t have the meringue power sugar,  She who also taught me the cookie recipe can’t get the ingredient.  She told me the great icing recipe below.

    Icing ingredients:

  •   1 egg white
  • 1 +1/2 cup confectioner powder sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Method:

  Beat all the ingredients until foamy and done.

 I used the cookie dough recipe from here.  This gingerbread cookie dough is our family’s favorite. I may try the one that is from the gingerbread tree’s for interest someday.

I change the recipe a little bit because I don’t use baking soda in it.

Christmas tree with gingerbread cookies   (  I made 2 Christmas trees)

 Ingredients:

  • 16 Tbsp butter  ( I used  homemade unsalted butter )
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1  cup Grandma’s molasses
  • 2 eggs
  •  4 cups King Arthur All purpose flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder ( I used Rumford )
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp  baking spice mix ( I used this one. )

Method:

Prepare:  Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl.

  1. Beat the egg and sugar using a hand mixer or stand mixer until it is foamy.
  2. Add the molasses and eggs, beat it again  until incorporated.
  3. Add the dry ingredients and mix using a paddle or rubber spatula  like cutting vegetables until well combined.
  4. Divided it into 3 balls and wrap them with plastic wrap tightly and leave them in a refrigerator for at least 2 hours.
  5. Preheat 350F  and Shape: Roll it out  a 5 mm thick circle or rectangle.  For a star templates I cut it out one at time using a dough cutter to cut the shape out, which is easy to work with.
  6. Bake  8-10 minutes at 350 F.   The smallest one will be 6 minutes.

Creative Commons License
Koubo by Akiko is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

7 Comments
  1. Hi Akiko,

    I just want to wish you have a great Christmas. I love your ginger bread tree idea. Thank you.

    Merry Christmas,

    K

    • Hi K,
      Yes, It was very refreshing to try something new like this. You would be very good at this!
      Merry Christmas, too!!
      Akiko

  2. Well I truly liked studying it. This post provided by you is very useful for good planning.

    • Thank you for your very kind words! I really appreciate it!! Thank you !!

  3. Hello there, just turned into alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of folks will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    • Thank you for your lovely words! I really appreciate it. Although I don’t understand what the ” brussels” means. I am not good at English.. but I enjoyed reading your comments!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies Recipes | Favorite Food RecipesFavorite Food Recipes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

