RSS

How to get the windowpane for soft bread

19 Jan
I use my Kitchen Aid stand mixer and hand to knead the dough for soft bread,however, I always knead the dough by hand for hard bread. I tried this method for hard bread, the crumb turned out weird.  It didn’t taste right.
How to get the windowpane for soft bread
For instant yeast bread

1
2
Divide 1/3 flour and the 2/3 flour in separate bowls and add the all other dry ingredients in the 1/3 flour bowl.
3
Add all the liquid and mix at 6-8 speed for 2-3 minutes until very smooth.
4
Add little bit of flour from the 1/3 flour…
5
And mix again at speed 4-6 for 2-3minutes until elastic…
6
Add the rest of the flour into the bowl…
7
Mix the flour and the dough and take it out…
8
And put the dough on the work bench…
9and knead for 15-20 minutes until….  * The dough gets gassy while kneading, which is a good sign ( the dough is fermenting) to know that you can go to next step.
10
you can see the windowpane.
For Levain bread:
  1
Mix  the levain, liquid and 2/3 flour in a mixing bowl.
2.
Speed at 4-6 for 2 minutes until…
3.
the dough gets very elastic.
4.
Add the 1/3 flour and mix it until..
5.
incorporated… and Autolyze for 30 minutes. The salt and fat set aside.
6.
Knead by hand for 10 minutes until …* The dough gets gassy while kneading, which is a good sign( the dough is fermenting) to know that you can go to next step.
7.
you can see the windowpane.
*****************************************************************************
If  the dough or your hands get too cold, I warm my hands using hot water.
*********************************************************************************************************

I have a Professional 600 Kitchen Aid stand mixer.

I have a story of my Kitchen Aid mixer.

  
 How small the teeth are!

Creative Commons License

Koubo by Akiko is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in How to get the windowpane for soft bread

 

Tags:

9 responses to “How to get the windowpane for soft bread

  1. K

    January 20, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    Akiko,

    Thank you for the great tutorial.

    Like

     
    • Akiko

      January 22, 2012 at 1:04 am

      K,
      Thank you for your kind words as always! I may try to use this method for sourdough,too.

      Like

       
  2. Kristi Boscarello

    February 4, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    I really prize your piece of work, Great post.

    Like

     
    • Akiko

      February 6, 2012 at 2:24 am

      Hello Kristi,
      Thank you for your kind words! I am very happy to read your comment!

      Like

       
  3. Nancy Alandra

    August 15, 2015 at 4:52 pm

    I absolutely love how the dough turned out. It made me laugh to read “windowpane,” but it’s true! This is amazing work. What measurements of liquid and flour do you use in your recipe?

    Thank you! Absolutely what I’ve been looking for!

    Like

     
    • Akiko

      August 17, 2015 at 8:56 pm

      Hi Nancy!

      Thank you for your comment! 🙂 Yeah, I love to see the windowpane!!! About the ratio of liquid and flour, It will be depends on season and flour.but it is about 67- 70% hydration, I wonder? I hope that helps you. Happy baking! Akiko

      Like

       
  4. camihawley28

    September 20, 2015 at 3:12 am

    I have used this technique several times and absolutely love it! Found you site when I discovered yeast water and come back to your recipes often, especially the Japanese sandwich loaf which I have made several times because my family loves the taste and the crumb is fantastic.
    Thank you for sharing Akiko!

    Like

     
  5. Deanna

    September 27, 2020 at 2:35 pm

    Hi akiko. I m following your tutorial. Waiting for bulk fermentation 3-12 hrs , i m using passionfruit yeast water. Now I understand how sweet n fragrant yeast water dough is! This is my first trial. I hope to report my progress.

    Like

     

Leave a comment